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August 14, 2025

Dank Poet Disiensai LLC

Re:  NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION - INITIAL AGENCY
DECISION REGARDING IMPOSITION OF SANCTIONS AGAINST
DANK POET DISPENSARY LLC

The New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission (“NJ-CRC” or “Commission’) has imposed a
civil monetary penalty of $7,500.00 for the reasons articulated below.

NJ-CRC’s Issuance of Notice of Violation

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.4(a), during an onsite assessment, a review of financial records, or
other Commission review of the license holder and its operations, if the Commission identifies a
violation of the Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization
Act, P.L.2021, c.16, N.J.S.A. 24:61-31 et seq., (the “Act”) or the implementing Personal-Use
Cannabis Rules (the “Personal-Use Regulations™), the Commission shall provide notice of the
violation, including an official written report of the findings and the nature of the violation, to the
cannabis business or testing laboratory within seven business days following the onsite assessment
or other identification of the violation.

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.5(a), a license holder shall not allow any cannabis item or alcohol to
be consumed on the premises or administrative offices of the cannabis business, or in public areas
in the vicinity of such premises or administrative offices, except cannabis items may be consumed
in a cannabis consumption area.

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-14.3(d), a cannabis retailer shall not sell to a consumer in a single sales
transaction: (1) more than 28.35 grams (one ounce) of usable cannabis; (2) more than four grams
of solid cannabis concentrate or four mL of liquid cannabis concentrate (oil); (3) vaporized
formulation containing more than four milliliters of liquid cannabis concentrate (oil); (4) multiple
ingestible cannabis-infused products containing an aggregate total of more than 1,000 mg of THC;
or (5) more than 28.35 grams (one ounce), or the equivalent, of some combination of usable
cannabis and cannabis products.



Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-14.3(e), a cannabis retailer shall make a good faith effort to prevent a
consumer from exceeding one ounce of usable cannabis or the equivalent weight in cannabis
products, in multiple sales transactions.

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-14.3(k), a cannabis retailer shall collect any tax from a consumer
required by the Act and the Personal-Use Regulations.

On April 11, 2025, a Notice of Violation was issued to Dank Poet Dispensary LLC (“Dank Poet™)
for violations related to the failure to prevent on-site consumption, failure to comply with product

sales limits, and failure to collect required New Jersey sales tax on purchased products (INV-59-
25).

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.4(b), unless otherwise specified by the Commission, within 20
business days of receipt of the notice of violation, the cannabis business or testing laboratory shall
correct the violation(s) and notify the Commission, in writing, of any corrective actions taken to
correct the violations, and the date of implementation of such corrective actions. Dank Poet
responded to the Notice of Violation and provided a corrective action plan within 20 days of receipt
of the Notice of Violation.

NJ-CRC’s Review of Imposition of Sanctions

Regardless of whether a license holder provides a corrective action plan, pursuant to N.J.A.C.
17:30-20.5(a), in response to a violation of any provision of the Act or the Personal-Use
Regulations, the Commission is authorized to take enforcement action or impose sanctions upon a
license holder. Sanctions may include, but are not limited to, civil monetary penalties; suspension,
revocation, non-renewal, or denial of a license; referral to State or local law enforcement, pursuant
to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.6, -20.7, and -20.8; or any combination thereof.

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.6(b), a monetary penalty imposed by the Commission on a license
holder pursuant to this subchapter may not exceed $500,000 per major violation or $50,000 per
any other license violation. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.6(c), a violation by each entity or person
per day shall constitute a separate incident for the purposes of calculating the number of violations.

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.6(d), the Commission may impose greater penalties for successive
violations up to the maximum amounts.

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.6(f), the Commission may, in the Commission's sole discretion,
consider additional factors in determining the penalty for each violation. Such factors may include,
but are not limited to:
1. Any prior violations that the license holder has admitted to or was found to have engaged
in;
2. Good faith measures by the license holder to self-report or prevent the violation;
3. The license holder's record of compliance with the laws and rules pertaining to personal
use cannabis;
4. Corrective action(s) taken by the license holder related to the current violation or prior



violations;

5. Willfulness and deliberateness of the violation;
6. Likelihood of reoccurrence of the violation; and
7. Violations involving damage or danger to the life, health, welfare, safety, or property of

any person.

After completing a thorough review of Dank Poet’s violations related to the failure to prevent on-
site consumption, failure to comply with product sales limits, and failure to collect required New
Jersey sales tax on purchased products, the Commission has determined to impose a civil monetary
penalty of $7,500.00 as follows:

VIOLATION FINE
Violation 1 (failure to prevent on-site consumption) $5,000.00
Yiqlation 2-3 (failure to comply with product sales $2.000.00
limits) T
Violations 3 (failure to collect required New Jersey $500.00
sales tax on purchased products) '
TOTAL $7,500.00

In determining the penalty, the Commission considered penalties previously imposed on
businesses for similar violations and the particular facts and circumstances of the violation,
including the fact that Dank Poet allowed on-site consumption of cannabis despite being advised
by the NJ-CRC staff prior to the event that such consumption would not be permissible.

The Commission finds the imposed penalty to be fair, reasonable, and consistent with the
regulations at N.J.A.C. 17:30.

Next Steps

Fines must be paid online by logging into the Commission’s licensing portal at https://nj-crc-
public.nls.egov.com/login. If you feel you cannot pay the fine within 30 days of the date of this
notice, you are encouraged to contact the Commission to establish a payment plan.

Please inform your assigned investigator when payment has been made.

If you wish to contest the imposition of this penalty, you may request an adjudicatory hearing
pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., and 52:14F-1 et seq., to
contest the Commission’s imposition of a civil monetary penalty for any license violation within
14 days of receipt of this initial decision. If you wish to exercise your right to a hearing, such a
request must be made in writing and sent to:

Dave Tuason, Chief Counsel
New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission
PO Box 216



Trenton, NJ 08625-0216
David.Tuason@crc.nj.gov

Should you have any questions regarding this correspondence, please submit your inquiry to the
NJ-CRC Licensing inbox at crc.licensing(@cre.nj.gov.

Sincerely,

Dianna Houenou
Chairperson
New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission





